Rick Sutcliffe Arjay Books  Arjay   by
  Rick Sutcliffe
SearchSite Web  FreeFind
Other Fiction
Non Fiction
Arjay Enterprises
Rick Sutcliffe's
Fiction →
Publisher Store
Arjay EPIC
arjay Webring


Christian Resources
ArjayWeb Services
Back to Fiction Central ← Genres

Links to Other Authors/Genres

Information and links to writers and genres not highlighted elsewhere on this site supplied by Rick Sutcliffe's Arjay Enterprises.

Elsewhere on the Arjay Books site we have listed eBook authors and those writing in genres of specific relevance to the Arjay Books site, such as SF, CSF, Alternate History, other Christian writers, Celtic authors and links, and so on.

This is a page of uncategorized links where other authors whose work appears primarily in paper are listed. Some of these are listed purely because of their last name, others because their work has struck our fancy for one reason or another, others because we've swapped links to promote our pages.

No guarantees of any kind can be given concerning what you may find on pages at these sites. Should a reader find something we have linked to here, or on one of our other pages top be particularly offensive, contact us and let us know what the problem is.

Rick Sutcliffe's CSF

This page is a catch-all link into Rick Sutcliffe's SF, which defies genre classification itself in that it is alternate history and soft science fiction, but neither fantasy or chiliastic. It is set among several alternate worlds linked by a medium called the timestream, and involves the characters in ethical decision making. The only sense in which it is "futuristic" is that some of the alternate worlds have had information technology and biotechnology hundreds of years longer than we have. However, they have deliberately chosen to limit the deployment of these technologies, so such futuristic elements are blunted, and this is especially so since our own contemporary history frequently intrudes into the stories.

Characters of Rick Sutcliffe's Christian science fiction wrestle with sin, salvation, the problems of pain, evil, and war. Some are Christians, some are hardened sinners, others are ambiguous, at various levels of interest or maturity, or still on a spiritual journey. They learn and grow--some toward God, some away. Each book has at least one explicit Gospel presentation. However, the Christian content is not in the readers' face. It's just there, and this in itself sets this fiction apart from most science fiction and fantasy, and indeed most modern literature (including much of what is sold in Christian bookstores) because modern authors and editors sanitize fiction of all Christian content so depicting an unrealistic world. That is, mainstream modern fiction could be rightly be accused of being just as speculative, fantastic, or futuristic in its own way as the fiction presented here.

The first series, The Interregnum, takes place largely on Ortho Earth, also called Greater Hibernia, and covers the period 1941-2001, during which there was a ban on the throne and the High King's family, and a corrupt oligarchy of nobles ruled.

Volume I, The Peace, published as an electronic book, won an award nomination, was a best seller with its first publisher and received very positive reviews, particularly from Analog magazine's Tom Easton. It was republished by Writers Exchange ePublishing in December 2002.
Volume II, The Friends, is also available in electronic book form and in paper from Booksurge. It was published by Writers Exchange ePublishing in June 2003 and was named the best Science Fiction novel of the year with an EPPIE 2004 award.
Volume III, The Exile was published by Writers Exchange ePublishing in July 2003, and was an EPPIE 2004 finalist for Science Fiction. It is available in both electronic book and paper form.
Volume IV, The General, was published by Writers Exchange ePublishing in March 2006 and is available from them and their retailers in a variety of formats.
Volume V, The Nexus, was published by Writers Exchange ePublishing in April 2006 and is available from them and their retailers in a variety of formats.
Volume VI, The Builder, was published by Writers Exchange ePublishing in March 2012.

The second series, The Throne, takes place almost entirely on Ortho Earth, also called Greater Hibernia, and covers the period 1000-2001 and the kings and queens of Hibernia during that time.

Book 1, Culmanic Parts, contains a memoir of Catherine the great, first High Queen from 1014, the story of the thirteenth century culmanics who began Hibernia's scientific and technological revolution, and the first part of Amy Rea's fourteenth century story.
Book 2, Rea's Blood or Navy Girl or follows Amy Rea through to the battle of Trafalgar in 1440. Expected in November 2015
Book 3, Tara's Mother concludes the story of the war with Spain in 1441 and the peace that follows. Expected in January 2016

Book 4, The Paladin tells the story of Hibernia's throne from 1492 through 2001, concluding both series. Finished; Awaiting second poof reading.
All of Rick Sutcliffe's books can be purchased via links here and of course from the Publisher and other fine retailers in many formats..

The Friends The Exile

Misc Fiction Links

Katherine Sutcliffe
Erle Stanley Gardner
Alexander Kent

Contact Us with your links

Arjay Copyrights
Arjay Home
This Arjay Enterprises page was last updated 2018 07 28